Professor Didier Fassin honored by Swedish Society for Anthropology and Geography


Didier Fassin, James D. Wolfensohn Professor in the School of Social Science, has been awarded the Gold Medal of the Swedish Society for Anthropology and Geography for his “scientific contributions to anthropology.” Created in 1881, the prize is awarded every third year to a “seminal scholar in anthropology.” It is presented by the King of Sweden on Vega Day, the 24th of April, which celebrates the return of Adolf Erik Nordenkiöld after his successful completion of the Northeast Passage around Siberia. SSAG has since then awarded seminal scholars in Anthropology, Human Geography, and Physical Geography on 24 April every year. The last recipient in Geography was NASA scientist Compton Tucker. Other anthropologists who have received the prize include Fredrick Barth, Jack Goody, Veena Das, Ulf Hannerz and, most recently, Paul Stoller.